I saw lots of REALLY good artwork in my 3 hour crazed tour of Chelsea yesterday. I made a list of galleries that I had to go to and ran into a few extras because the work beckoned to me through the reflective glassy front windows. A 60+ year old man totally macked on me at the Rauschenberg exhibit but he was actually interesting so I did not mind (well besides that he was slowing me down), better than a SantaCon* reject, I guess!

Mark Leckey at Gavin Brown’s Enterprise


GreenScreenRefridgeratorAction

Mark Leckey is a master of sound. Seeing his presentation “Cinema in the Round” at the Guggenheim proved this to me a few years ago (I had to pop a xanax during the lecture because the sounds and visuals were freaking me out, in a good but intense way). GreenScreenRefridgeratorAction used sound in a similar, successful way.

The installation featured a state of the art, sleek and modern, black Samsung refridgerator, wooing and trying to sell itself to the spectator of the piece. I really loved Leckey’s choice to use an object as common as a fridge as the object of desire. Having lived in England for a short while I could totally understand why a British artist would romanticize the refridgerator. Here in the good ole US of A we all have oversized, fancy fridges but in England it is a different story, noone I met during my time in London had modern appliances, like the ones we Americans take for granted (although i lived there in 1999/2000 so maybe standard of living has gotten better in the past 10 years).

The particular model of fridge presented in the gallery resembled the monolith in Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey. Being presented with this black slab in a green screen projection one could not help but reference that film and be forced into contemplating technological innovation/ rampant consumerism/ the nature of the universe/ & other philosophical questions. I really enjoyed this piece and it was a nice start to my art viewing afternoon.

See video here:


Gavin Brown’s space seemed much bigger to me than last time I was there, which was probably a couple of years ago (maybe they expanded since the other space shut down).
The gallery is a lovely place to see installation work and the large sculptural works of Mark Handforth filled the space quite nicely.

Mark Handforth at Gavin Brown’s Enterprise

Raymond Pettibon at David Zwirner Gallery


This Raymond Pettibon show was super awesome. YOU NEED TO SEE THIS. If I had more time I would elaborate further… but basically I was oohing and ahhing (to myself) the entire time I was in the gallery. I wanted to take ALL of these pieces home with me, if I was offered one I would have had an EXTREMELY hard time choosing, the work was all so fabulous. Mr. Pettibon is kind of rad!

Robert Rauschenberg at Gagosian Gallery

Untitled (Spread), 1983
The only image I was able to snap in this exhibition before getting yelled at by the guards and trailed by the older gentleman playwright.

Hiroshi Sugimoto at Pace Gallery


I love this work, I could stare at it forever and ever, it really does bring an inner peace to my chaotic soul.

Bernd and Hilla Becher at Sonnabend Gallery


I am also a huge fan of Bernd and Hilla Becher, I never tire of seeing this work!

OTHERS:::
Maria Lassnig at Friedrich Petzel Gallery


i like humorous art, especially when well executed.

Matthew Monahan at Anton Kern Gallery


Review in Time Out NY.

Julie Schenkelberg at Asya Geisberg Gallery

Miranda Lichtenstein at Elizabeth Dee Gallery


Elizabeth Dee Gallery is definitely one of my favorite galleries, these photographic works were pretty darn good.

Shit, I have run out of time on this sunday afternoon for contemplating my Chelsea art viewing experience, must run to meet an old friend for some dinner and conversation.
Tomorrow I shall post images from the amazing Anselm Kiefer show, another must see! Whoosh, I cannot believe all of the good shows, maybe my best luck in Chelsea ever.
ta ta!

*My hatred towards SantaCon participants grows at an alarming rate every year!

Leave a Reply

